Missouri DUI Accident Lawyer
Like every other state in the nation, Missouri prohibits driving while intoxicated (DWI or DUI in many other jurisdictions). People who violate state laws relating to drunk driving not only can be prosecuted for criminal offense, but they are much more likely to cause automobile accidents.
When a person is involved in a crash caused by a drunk driver, a conviction may be used as evidence of negligence in a subsequent personal injury claim. Need an Injury Lawyer Missouri represents clients injured by drunk drivers in Cape Girardeau, Wildwood, University City, Kansas City, Hazelwood, Jefferson City, St. Louis, Joplin, Gladstone, Springfield, Maryland Heights, Blue Springs, Columbia, Kirkwood, St. Charles, Independence, Raytown, Lee’s Summit, Ballwin, O’Fallon, Liberty, St. Joseph, St. Peters, Florissant, Chesterfield, Wentzville,and many surrounding areas of the Show Me State.
Missouri Drunk Driving Laws
The crime of DWI is established under Missouri Statute § 577.010, The statute states that a person commits this crime when he or she operates or is in actual physical control of a motor vehicle while having an alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent.
Minors (people under 21 years of age) can face drunk driving charges for alcohol concentrations that are even lower. An underage driver commits a DWI offense if he or she has an alcohol concentration of 0.02 percent.
While convictions for offenders in DWI cases can be beneficial for victims in their civil actions, it is important to note that a person being acquitted or otherwise having drunk driving charges dropped does not mean that person escapes civil liability. A good example of this rule is O.J. Simpson, who was found not guilty of murdering Nicole Brown Simpson and Ron Goldman in his criminal case but was found to be civilly liable for their deaths in the civil case.
Colorado Dram Shop Laws
Drivers are not the only people who may be liable in drunk driving accident cases. Missouri is a state that imposes dram shop liability on establishments that serve alcohol to certain patrons who then go on to cause motor vehicle crashes.
The term dram shop used to refer to bars, taverns, or other establishments which sold liquor in quantities (roughly a spoonful or one-eighth of an ounce) called drams. Missouri has two dram shop laws.
Missouri Statute § 537-053 establishes civil liability for vendors of alcoholic beverages who knowingly sell alcoholic beverages to visibly intoxicated individuals. The dram shop law applies only to establishments selling alcohol for consumption on premises, so convenience stores that sell packaged alcohol to intoxicated persons cannot be held liable under this statute.
Unlike some other states, however, Missouri does not have a law pertaining to social hosts—individuals who serve alcohol to guests at private functions. While Missouri Statute § 311.310 does establish criminal liability for social hosts who provide alcohol to minors, no law creates civil liability for social hosts.
Missouri DWI Accident Attorney
Did you suffer catastrophic injuries or was your loved one killed in a crash caused by a drunk driver anywhere in Missouri? You should contact Need an Injury Lawyer Missouri as quickly as possible.
Our firm is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. We offer a free, no obligation consultation to have our experienced personal injury attorneys review your case and answer all of your legal questions.
Do not let concerns about money prevent you from seeking legal representation. We handle these cases on a contingency fee basis are charged absolutely nothing unless you receive a financial award.